IPR Creative Competition Award Ceremony

Date(s): 08/05/2014
Time: 9:00 am - 10:00 am

Chinese University of Hong Kong, Graduate Law Centre, 2/F Bank of America Tower,



The award ceremony of the IPR Creative Competition took place on 8th May 2014 during the opening session of the International Cooperation to Fight Counterfeiting Conference. More than 180 participants from various customs offices in Asia, brand owners, legal experts and academics from Asia and Europe attended the conference and the ceremony.

The Design Competition of the EU-HK Intellectual Property Series 2013 was co-organized by the European Union Academic Programme Hong Kong and the European Chamber of Commerce in Hong Kong. The competition series took place in 3 stages: Mascot Design, Visual Arts Design and Short Film from September 2013 to February 2014 and more than 130 students took part in the three competitions. The design competition aimed to raise awareness of the need to protect ownership of innovative ideas and products and addressed the potentially damaging socio-economic consequences of IPR infringement.

One of the judges, Mr. Mayank Vaid, Chairman of the European Brands Protection Council, commented that “The different series in this competition are designed to raise awareness and engage the community for IPR Protection in Hong Kong. Many capable students competed in these series and it was not easy to select a winner. Many competition entries left the judges awestruck with the depth of understanding and imagination of students. I hope with such events we can raise awareness amongst the community on the importance of protecting innovation and creativity by means of intellectual property rights protection.”


The winners of the three competitions are:

– Mascot Design Competition –

Szeto Chun Hei, Kenneth (Academy of Visual Arts, Hong Kong Baptist University)

First Runner- up:
Lin Ling (Academy of Visual Arts, Hong Kong Baptist University)

Second Runner-up:
Chow Chun Yat (Academy of Visual Arts, Hong Kong Baptist University)

– Visual Arts Competition –

Tung Sin Ting (Hong Kong Design Institute)

First Runner- up:
Leung Lee Ka (Hong Kong Design Institute)

Second Runner-up:
Ng King Yiu (Hong Kong Design Institute)

– Short Film Competition-

Winner: The team of Tung Wah Group of Hospitals Kwok Yat Wat College
– Leung Ming Chi
– Chan Yat Man
– Fu Hoi Shan
– Chow Chun Hei

First Runner-up: The team of Academy of Film, Cinema and Television of the Hong Kong Baptist University
– Lu Jiaxi
– Zhu Qimeng
– Kwok Ming Hei
– Zhang Yatao
– Shao Junchao
– Chen Shijun
– Wong Lai Wa
– Zhang Zhuoling
– Liufang Yiyi
– Guan Xiang

Second Runner-up: The team of Hong Kong Design Institute
– Hung Tsz Ying
– Lam Siu Ying

Thank you for all the good works and efforts of the participants and congratulations to the winners!


Photo album: 

Loading Map....